Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Predicting the ECAC award winners

The ECAC will announce its all-league and all-rookie teams as well as its coach and player of the year awards at a banquet Thursday night in Atlantic City. Locally, Eric Hartzell should be a lock for the Ken Dryden Award as goaltender of the year. Rand Pecknold should also have coach of the year with ease.

The 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award will also be announced Thursday. Expect Hartzell and Greg Carey of St. Lawrence to be the ECAC reps.

Here's one man's predictions for awards night.

First team
F: Greg Carey, St. Lawrence
F: Andrew Miller, Yale
F: Kyle Flanagan, St. Lawrence
D: George Hughes, St. Lawrence
D: Nick Bailen, RPI
G: Eric Hartzell, Quinnipiac

Second team
F: Kenny Agostino, Yale
F: Andrew Calof, Princeton
F: Greg Miller, Cornell
D: Shayne Gostisbehere, Union
D: Greg Coburn, Union
G: Jason Kasdorf, RPI

Third team
F: Greg Miller, Cornell
F: Jeremy Langlois, Quinnipiac
F: Matt Lorito, Brown
D: Joakim Ryan, Cornell
D: Mike Dalhuisen, Quinnipiac
G: Anthony Borelli, Brown

All rookie
F: Jordan Samuels-Thomas, Quinnipiac
F: Jimmy Vescey, Harvard
F: Tylor Spink, Colgate
D: Ryan Obuchowski, Yale
D: Paul Geiger, Clarkson
G: Kasdorf

Tim Taylor Award (coach of the year): Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac
Rookie of the year: Kasdorf
Ken Dryden Award (goalie of the year): Hartzell
Best defensive forward: Josh Balch, Yale -- a long shot, but one of my personal favorites. While we're at it, let's throw Stu Wilson of Yale in there, too.
Best defensive defenseman: Zach Davies and Zack Davies, Quinnipiac -- two is better than one
Player of the year: Carey, though Hartzell has a real chance


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home