Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Keith Allain, Rand Pecknold finalists for ECAC coach of the year

Three great candidates for the Tim Taylor Award. But Pecknold has to be the prohibitive favorite given the incredible season and No. 1 ranking. Quinnipiac was picked fourth, Yale fifth and RPI eighth in the ECAC preseason poll.

Keith Allain, Yale University - (7th-season)
Supporting Information:
The former Bulldogs goaltender, now in his 7th season at the helm with Yale, continues to elevate the Bulldogs program to be recognized among the nation’s perennial powers. Finishing with a 12-9-1 conference record, Allain guided the Bulldogs to a third-place finish and their fifth consecutive season with double-digit wins. While the Bulldogs offense has flourished under Allain’s direction, the special teams was solid this season, leading the conference in combined play successfully converting 105 out of 201 chances (52.2%) on the power-play and penalty-kill.
Seth Appert, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute - (7th-season)
Supporting Information:
Know for consistently playing one of the toughest schedules in the country each season, Appert ignited the Engineers turnaround to finish 16-7-3 after winning just one of their first eight games (1-5-2). Rensselaer would go on to take the number two seed in the ECAC Hockey tournament, earning a first-round bye. Under Appert the Engineers tightened their defense only surrendering two goals or few in nine of their last 14 games. They would go on to post the second best scoring defense in conference play allowing 2.23 goals per contest.
Rand Pecknold, Quinnipiac University - (19th-season)
Supporting Information:
Pecknold guided the Bobcats to their program’s first ECAC Hockey regular-season title, claiming the ‘Cleary Cup’ with a record of 17-2-3. En route to their 15th-straight non-losing season under the veteran coach, the Bobcats established several program records including; longest unbeaten streak in program history (21); best road record in program history (11-1-2); first-ever tournament bye; highest national ranking (No. 1); and most swept teams during a single season (seven).

The winner of the 2012-13 Tim Taylor Coach of the Year Award will be announced as part of championship weekend Thurs., March 21 at the league's postseason banquet.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home